Simon Boulter’s Sketchbook

Discuss on Discord Register Free

home Forums Art & Artwork Sketchbooks Simon Boulter’s Sketchbook

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Simon Boulter
    Participant
    No badges. No points.

1st Drawing since I quit Art College for a Pro MMA career 17 years ago. The Terminator.

I drew constantly from age 10 to 17, and went to art college. I wanted to be a comic book artist. I was competing as an amatuer MMA fighter during my year at college, and was doing very well. Since MMA became my biggest passion, I decided to quit college to pursue a career in MMA and Personal Training . I havent picked up a pencil since. I then went pro as a fighter soon after at 18.

This is my first drawing in 17 years since I quit college. And it is my first time ever drawing with pens. I really wanted to try them out. So did this drawing with a brush pen and pencil.

I’m surprised how much came back to me so quickly. I took my time and this took hours.

I’m really looking forward to seeing how much I can improve.

I have now signed up for New Masters Academy  and have started going through the lessons.I am beginning with the Beginners Guide to Drawing and have already picked up things I never learned in College. I’m excited to started painting as well as drawing.

I’ve only been back drawing a few weeks but am now practicing about 4 hours per day and loving it, treating it like practice and training like I did martial arts. I’m doing the NMA courses as well as my own drawings for fun. Since I retired from MMA years ago, it’s great to have something to put all my energy and passion into. I want to progress as much as possible and see how good I can really get over the next few months and years.

Any tips/advice appreciated. If you have any course suggestions for after I finish the Beginner’s Guide, that’d be great.

Simon

Daniel DaigleDaniel Daigle
    Keymaster
    No badges. No points.

Hi Simon, Welcome Back!